Skip to main content

Categories

Appeal

DateArticle
Thursday, 30 April, 2020Royal Voluntary Service launches £5million COVID-19 Emergency Appeal

Board of Trustees

DateArticle
Monday, 15 November, 2021Tribute to Mike Bury, Royal Voluntary Service Trustee

Campaign

DateArticle
Wednesday, 16 December, 2020Royal Voluntary Service supports 'Your Later Life' campaign

Events

DateArticle
Friday, 02 July, 2021Ross Kemp toasts hard-working pandemic helpers at ‘Cheers for Volunteers’ event

History

DateArticle
Sunday, 29 March, 2020A history of voluntary service in crises
Thursday, 03 October, 2019Exhibition tells of 80 years of Royal Voluntary Service in Glasgow
Thursday, 17 May, 2018Dame Patricia Routledge marks 80 years of Royal Voluntary Service at Wiltshire Museum event

NHS Volunteer Responders

DateArticle
Tuesday, 22 June, 2021Students to swap beachwear for high viz this summer
Wednesday, 17 March, 2021Prime Minister, Boris Johnson thanks NHS Volunteer Responders and St John Ambulance Vaccination Volunteers
Tuesday, 23 February, 2021HRH The Duchess of Cornwall visits NHS Volunteer Responder volunteers at COVID-19 vaccination site
Friday, 18 December, 2020The Duke and Duchess of Cambridge make surprise visit to Royal Voluntary Service client at Batley Community Centre
Friday, 06 November, 2020NHS Volunteer Responders scheme extended to support the public and NHS staff over winter
Monday, 01 June, 2020HRH hails volunteers ‘the backbone of our country’ as NHS Volunteer Responders reach 250k milestone
Tuesday, 28 April, 2020Vulnerable people get direct Line to NHS volunteer army
Tuesday, 07 April, 2020NHS army of volunteers to start protecting vulnerable from coronavirus in England
Sunday, 29 March, 2020NHS Volunteer Responders: 250,000 target smashed with three quarters of a million committing to volunteer
Tuesday, 24 March, 2020Major call for volunteers to help NHS fight coronavirus
Saturday, 14 March, 2020Public Health Coronavirus advice

Partnerships

DateArticle
Thursday, 02 September, 2021New programme launches to fuel innovation in social prescribing
Wednesday, 28 April, 2021Volunteering key to improving job prospects
Tuesday, 10 November, 2020Support to help older people stay safe, well and warm this winter
Wednesday, 22 April, 2020Funkypigeon.com launches a range of 12 charity cards in support of Royal Voluntary Service

Reporting

DateArticle
Wednesday, 28 April, 2021Volunteering key to improving job prospects
Wednesday, 24 March, 2021Report launch: Volunteering, COVID and integrated care – how the recent surge of volunteer support must be ‘wired-in’ to healthcare for long-term gains

Research

DateArticle
Thursday, 25 November, 2021New research finds pandemic has negatively impacted health and social fabric in Britain’s poorest neighbourhoods
Friday, 29 October, 202162% of Brits suffer from pandemic hangover
Tuesday, 19 October, 2021Community planting events recognise vital role of green spaces with Billion Seed Challenge
Wednesday, 28 April, 2021Volunteering key to improving job prospects
Wednesday, 16 September, 2020COVID-19 confidence crisis as millions fear leaving their home
Wednesday, 04 March, 2020Hundreds of thousands of older people missing out on health benefits of exercising with others
Thursday, 12 December, 2019Brits set to give 74.3 million hour Christmas Gift
Thursday, 12 December, 2019HRH The Duchess of Cornwall joins fan making class
Tuesday, 05 November, 2019Every day thousands of older people skip meals or rely on ready meals
Friday, 01 November, 2019Yakult supports Royal Voluntary Service in new #MakeADifference campaign
Tuesday, 01 October, 2019British parents urged to encourage volunteering to improve child’s happiness
Tuesday, 01 October, 2019Lack of visitors has detrimental effect on patient recovery
Tuesday, 09 July, 2019The formula for a happy retirement
Saturday, 25 May, 2019The UK’s got talent
Tuesday, 30 April, 2019Senior socialites out and about making new friends at 70
Thursday, 25 April, 2019Teaming up with Legal & General in major volunteer recruitment campaign
Wednesday, 10 April, 2019Major call up for public to volunteer as mental health benefits revealed

Royal Support

DateArticle
Friday, 19 March, 2021The Queen and The Duchess of Cornwall thank pandemic volunteers
Tuesday, 23 February, 2021HRH The Duchess of Cornwall visits NHS Volunteer Responder volunteers at COVID-19 vaccination site
Friday, 18 December, 2020The Duke and Duchess of Cambridge make surprise visit to Royal Voluntary Service client at Batley Community Centre
Thursday, 08 October, 2020HRH The Duchess of Cornwall visits Rickmansworth Lunch Club
Monday, 01 June, 2020HRH hails volunteers ‘the backbone of our country’ as NHS Volunteer Responders reach 250k milestone
Tuesday, 02 July, 2019HRH The Duchess of Cornwall visits local lunch club

Royal Voluntary Service

DateArticle
Monday, 17 January, 2022Move more, feel better in mind and body, says Mr Motivator MBE
Wednesday, 03 June, 2020New trustees appointed
Wednesday, 03 June, 2020Thanking the nation’s volunteers for helping others
Friday, 10 January, 2020Royal Voluntary Service named London Book Fair Charity of the Year 2020
Thursday, 08 August, 2019Stephen Dunmore appointed as Chair of Royal Voluntary Service
Thursday, 13 December, 2018Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals Trust presented with £94k gift
Monday, 05 November, 2018The Gift of Time exhibition opening at London’s OXO Gallery
Wednesday, 31 October, 2018Celebrity photographer Nicky Johnston tells the story of volunteering today
Thursday, 27 September, 2018MasterChef’s toughest critic awards volunteer cooks five stars
Tuesday, 25 September, 2018Royal Voluntary Service joins National Dementia Action Alliance
Thursday, 13 September, 2018London Ambulance Service pilot reduces 999 calls and visits to A&E
Wednesday, 27 June, 2018Dementia training for Royal Voluntary Service volunteers
Tuesday, 26 June, 2018Royal Voluntary Service presents NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde with £250,000 gift
Thursday, 21 June, 2018Simplyhealth supports Basingstoke Home From Hospital service
Tuesday, 12 June, 2018Royal Voluntary Service café at Stirling Community Hospital transformed thanks to generous donations
Wednesday, 16 May, 2018Royal Voluntary Service celebrates 80 years of helping others
Tuesday, 15 May, 2018Volunteers transform patient snack trolleys to offer healthier options
Thursday, 03 May, 2018Millions of people consider gifting their time to support our NHS
Monday, 16 April, 2018McCarthy & Stone raises more than a quarter of a million pounds for Royal Voluntary Service
Tuesday, 10 April, 2018Royal Voluntary Service launches new volunteer-led commissioned services to improve experience of ageing
Thursday, 05 April, 2018Royal Voluntary Service teams taste success at healthyliving awards
Tuesday, 20 March, 2018Old age, no age to give up the lycra
Friday, 09 March, 2018Royal Voluntary Service presents Leicester hospitals charity with £285,000 gift
Wednesday, 14 February, 2018Elaine Paige takes on new role as Royal Voluntary Service Ambassador
Thursday, 25 January, 2018Millions of pre-retirees aspire to revive Britain’s communities
Wednesday, 17 January, 2018Partnership with London Ambulance Service to pilot programme which aims to reduce calls to 999 (1)
Friday, 05 January, 2018Sheds Grant Fund opens to local communities
Friday, 15 December, 2017Three new services to open to help reduce loneliness and isolation
Wednesday, 06 December, 2017Community shed projects across Britain receive vital funding
Monday, 04 December, 2017Tips for keeping older people well this winter
Tuesday, 14 November, 2017Players of People’s Postcode Lottery raise staggering £5m for Royal Voluntary Service
Tuesday, 17 October, 2017HRH The Duchess Of Cornwall launches ‘Our Amazing People’ campaign
Wednesday, 23 August, 2017Addenbrooke’s Chair opens healthy options café
Wednesday, 19 July, 2017Ex-Samaritans Chief joins Royal Voluntary Service as new CEO

Services

DateArticle
Tuesday, 10 November, 2020Support to help older people stay safe, well and warm this winter
Thursday, 08 October, 2020HRH The Duchess of Cornwall visits Rickmansworth Lunch Club
Saturday, 14 March, 2020Advice and support on staying well at home
Sunday, 19 January, 2020HRH The Duchess of Cornwall visits Royal Voluntary Service’s Cornhill Centre in Oxfordshire

social prescribing

DateArticle
Thursday, 02 September, 2021New programme launches to fuel innovation in social prescribing

Supporters

DateArticle
Friday, 02 July, 2021Ross Kemp toasts hard-working pandemic helpers at ‘Cheers for Volunteers’ event
Thursday, 30 April, 2020Royal Voluntary Service launches £5million COVID-19 Emergency Appeal

Virtual Village Hall

DateArticle
Wednesday, 03 June, 2020Thanking the nation’s volunteers for helping others
Monday, 01 June, 2020HRH hails volunteers ‘the backbone of our country’ as NHS Volunteer Responders reach 250k milestone
Thursday, 07 May, 2020Royal Voluntary Service marks VE Day with virtual singalong
Tuesday, 28 April, 2020National lockdown activity programme for older people launches

Volunteering

DateArticle
Tuesday, 22 June, 2021Students to swap beachwear for high viz this summer
Monday, 07 June, 2021Volunteering can build the kind of society we all want to live in
Tuesday, 01 June, 2021Ross Kemp kicks off ‘Cheers for Volunteers’ to thank pandemic helpers
Wednesday, 12 May, 2021"Royal Voluntary Service’s report should give us all cause for optimism" - People’s Postcode Lottery
Wednesday, 28 April, 2021Volunteering key to improving job prospects
Monday, 19 April, 2021Home cooking loses its flavour for millions as food fatigue sets in
Friday, 06 November, 2020NHS Volunteer Responders scheme extended to support the public and NHS staff over winter
Thursday, 08 October, 2020Royal Voluntary Service leads major call up for public to volunteer through COVID winter crisis
Wednesday, 03 June, 2020Thanking the nation’s volunteers for helping others
Tuesday, 12 May, 2020Royal Voluntary Service volunteers ready to make 100,000 companionship calls, thanks to Asda Foundation
Tuesday, 11 February, 2020HRH The Duchess of Cornwall and Elaine Paige OBE launch charity’s Big Trolley Push campaign
Monday, 11 November, 2019Royal Voluntary Service welcomes Daily Express as ‘Step Forward’ partner
Friday, 31 May, 2019Thank you to all our volunteers
Monday, 11 March, 2019Pressure on our community services sees one million people volunteer for the first time in the past year
Thursday, 07 February, 2019Army of volunteers to ease NHS winter pressure
Tuesday, 11 December, 2018Millions plan to give the gift of time this Christmas
Tuesday, 04 December, 2018New report finds volunteers reduce pressure on frontline NHS staff
Thursday, 16 August, 2018Make volunteering part of student life
Thursday, 05 July, 2018Celebrating 70 years of volunteering in the NHS
Friday, 01 June, 2018Volunteers truly making a difference
Thursday, 08 February, 2018Hospital volunteers step up to support the NHS
Tuesday, 28 November, 2017Millions to do voluntary service this Christmas